Enthusiam vs Knowledge

Many hundreds of weeks ago, I got a computer, got right into it, and was soon producing software and content in my spare time that people wanted. I would work at my day job, then come home and just keep on going (who needs food). But not any more. Now I have a huge load of knowledge and skills which I keep current, but after a day of shovelling code I come home and just want to idle. There are a hundred projects I want to work on – but getting to even one is a chore.

Is this a common situation? If you are a developer of 10+ years, maybe you still hammer out code at home for your latest toys or just interesting projects. Or not. And if you do, what drives you? And is it related to having gone into software “as a career choice” or did you find software first and run with it.  This is not software-centric thing. Could be electronics, building race cars, or raising rabbits.

Which brings me to a question:

Youthful enthusiasm or hard-won cunning and experience?  Which is the most powerful combination?

There is a lot to be said for boundless energy, including having the time to make the mistakes the ‘old guy’ might not, learn from it and still make good stuff. But in a serious contest, who would win? Its not a tortoise vs hare race.  Some employers feel that it is more economical to hire the inexperienced while others see that as a risky strategy. But this is not work-related. Its after work related.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment